Microsoft Teams


Recommendations for Creating and Leading a Lecture or Seminar in a Team

Lecture/Seminar or a "Meeting" Planning

You can create a team meeting according to the following video instrucions.

The video is only available to active MUNI employees or students.

Once you have created a meeting, we recommend that you adjust its permissions in the Meeting Options so that students are in the participant role when they join the meeting. It does not allow them to start recording, share content, mute other participants, or remove them. Participants can ask questions, raise a hand, and contribute to the meeting chat. During the meeting, you can change the participant's role by clicking on three dots to a presenter who can share content, start recording, and mute others. During a meeting, you can change permissions for everyone at once or specific people.

On the Day of the Lecture/Seminar

Set up your camera, microphone, and speakers before a lecture/seminar. Make sure where the camera is pointing so that, for example, students can see how you got to the next step while explaining and not your back. It is also advisable to set the lesson's organization at the beginning and remind students that they have to turn off the microphone during the whole lecture. If they have a question, they can click on the hand-raising pictogram, and as soon as you address it, they can turn on the microphone and ask a question. When organizing a lesson, keep in mind that it is appropriate to involve students in some form so that they are not just listeners.

When you are ready to start the meeting, open the Teams calendar and click the Join button.

 

During the Meeting Tips

It is good for effective meeting management to know how to share content with participants (A). You can choose from the following options:

  • Desktops - participants see everything you have open on the screen,
  • Specific Window - participants see only the selected window. Other applications and files they do not see,
  • PowerPoint,
  • or Whiteboard.

If you find that you need to edit the permissions after starting or during a meeting, you can set it through Permissions Management (B). Here you can also find the attendance list (C), which will be downloaded to your downloaded files. You can now mute all students (D) in the meeting, but they must meet participants' role. After raising the student's hand (F), you can unmute him by clicking on three dots. You can also mute a specific person (D) on the list of meeting participants.

When broadcasting only the camera image, you can set all participants in the meeting to see only you via the Highlight Me (E.) option, which you can also use for another participant. During/after the lecture, students can ask questions using the Hand Raise (F.), which will then be displayed next to the student.

Via the menu of other options (three dots), you can start the recording (G), which is saved in the Stream under the A3 license (more about changing the permissions of the recording), and then you will find it in the meeting chat. You can make it available to students by sending a link in the Stream or downloading and uploading it to the IS. Last but not least, to concentrate students on your lecture, you can set a background (H).

  • A. Content Sharing
  • B. Edit Permissions during the Meeting
  • C. Download Attendance List
  • D. Mute Participants - One or All at Once
  • E. Highlight Me
  • F. Raise your Hand
  • G. Recording
  • H. Background Settings

You are running an old browser version. We recommend updating your browser to its latest version.